End of the Year

Posted On October 6, 2011

Filed under events

Comments Dropped 2 responses

Kekri is coming up soon and I’m very excited about it. I always liked the feel of this time of the year. It reminds me of a holiday that I used to celebrate called Winter Nights, which is a similar holiday but from Scandinavian countries. In both celebrations, I’ve been in a nice warm place surrounded by friends, complete with feasts and honoring of the ancestors. I also like this time of year when the nights are getting darker and colder. There’s kind of a magical air outside.

Kekri marks the end of the year in the old calendar, and this year’s will also mark the end of my time in Finland. Two days after the weekend I will spend with Taivaannaula, I am going to America to visit family and friends, and then at the end of November I will move to Japan. I was offered a full-time job there that lasts for eighteen months, or longer if I wish to extend it. I am not sure how I will feel when I am gone from this place. I will continue to write in this blog, but there will be no more entries about going to Finnish pagan events, unless by some miracle there are people in Japan that practice suomenusko.

There is still another week left to sign up to go to Taivaannaula’s kekri for those who are in Finland and not aware of it: http://www.taivaannaula.org/kekri.php

2 Responses to “End of the Year”

  1. Anonymous

    Thank you so much for all your wonderful entries regarding Suomenusko. It has taught ma a great deal. Good luck in Japan. Kiitos.

  2. Anonymous

    Thank you for this information. I am half Finn-American, 3rd generation. I live in New Mexico now via Los Angeles, but was born and raised in Oregon. I have been looking for so long to find information as to my real spiritual ancestry. This is wonderful.
    Reading this and various other sites helps to make a lot of sense out of my childhood.
    I love this.

    Also, I am an artist, singer-songwriter, storyteller, teacher and have always been drawn to the healing arts. My website if you so choose to look is: http://www.susanlowerymusic.com

    Susan Lowery

Leave a Reply

